I am not now nor have I ever been…

Let me start this by saying that there are few things that get me worked up, I get moody and pissy but actually fuming is a rare thing. I am from a family that stews in silence, but the events of last night still have me worked up.

My partner Liz is a big Olympics fan and is planning an Olympics event in her sim of Thistle, so to that end we were out looking for things Olympic, which took us to a sim that features large quantites of “emblems of countries” among other things. Upon tping into the sim you are greeted by the announcement:

[2010-02-15 18:34:10] Greeter: Lyndzay Meili Welcome to ❚❚❚❚ ❚❚❚❚❚❚❚… *use Copybot expose to be banned from Second Life* …Enjoy your visit

ok this is new, better than the “!Quit” greetings you can still find without looking to hard.

After things rez I start walking around looking at all the countries represented, pausing to send comments back to Liz. She’s a cam’er but I like to walk around and look when I am in a sim, especially if I’m just tagging along.

After a few minutes there, I got an IM from the owner making nice shop talk, [I have to say I do like a “Hi” from the shop owner if they are around, though I am bad about doing it in my own shop] told them they had nice products and if I had any questions I would let them know. I continued to wander around, finding an amusing Gay Pirate flag I stopped to IM Liz when I got an IM from the store owner

[2010-02-15 18:47:08] ❚❚❚❚ ❚❚❚❚❚❚❚: Copybot are not allowed here
[2010-02-15 18:47:13] ❚❚❚❚ ❚❚❚❚❚❚❚: are you copyboting ?
[2010-02-15 18:47:27] Lyndzay Meili: no just walking
[2010-02-15 18:47:40] ❚❚❚❚ ❚❚❚❚❚❚❚: ok, I will know
[2010-02-15 18:47:59] ❚❚❚❚ ❚❚❚❚❚❚❚: You know the new rules about Copybot now ?
[2010-02-15 18:48:18] ❚❚❚❚ ❚❚❚❚❚❚❚: That means all your accouns are removed from second Life
[2010-02-15 18:48:24] Lyndzay Meili: Yes I saw when I tp’d in
[2010-02-15 18:49:59] ❚❚❚❚ ❚❚❚❚❚❚❚:: Abuses reports sent!
[2010-02-15 18:50:16] Lyndzay Meili: I did not and am not a copy botter
[2010-02-15 18:50:37] Lyndzay Meili: yes I use the emerald viewer but that is all
[2010-02-15 18:51:38] ❚❚❚❚ ❚❚❚❚❚❚❚: i will exactly know what did you did here, and LL is already informed

and while I was still in this total WTF! mode I was banned and ejected from the sim.

Of course the next IM I get is Liz wanting to know where I went?
“I got banned and ejected!” (well my exact words were more colorful)
“What? Why? By who?”
I tried to respond, I was still in shock.

A few minutes later, as I tried to calm down, I received an apologetic IM from the person “Saying that they did not know that I was accompanying Liz” (who had purchased 5 of their products while this incident was occuring) and that “Copybotting had made them crazy” .

Now what set this off, you are asking. I don’t know. Yes I am an emerald user[* NOTE at the time I was on 1.23.5.950 because I could not get voice to work on .110], and maybe it is a case of people not wanting that viewer in their sim, [which I am fine with, your sim your rules] but Liz is also an emerald user[ on 1.23.5.110] . I wasn’t clicking on anything, I was just walking around. Maybe that was it I was not actively shopping clicking on anything and everything.

Yes, store owners have every right to protect their products, but there has to be more effective ways. Stopping visitors and having them prove they are not doing something is not the answer. What in my actions were wrong? How do we “act natural”?

3 thoughts on “I am not now nor have I ever been…

  1. What just kills me about this is if the dude is selling copies of national flags, its not like he has actual content to steal. Anyone can download those images and with the use of a rudimentary building skills and a Torley video, make flags on their own.

    I would like to know the name of the shop so I never spend my lindens there.

  2. They’re probably going to have a tough time keeping customers if they’re worried that everyone is a copybotter. Unfortunately, it seems like it is simply part of the challenge of doing business in SL these days.

  3. that was nuts .. if anyone should have been booted i would have thought they would have booted me .. i was in edit on a bunch of stuff being curious of how things are put together always. Would have thought that would raise more red flags then just browsing around. OMG that girl is “walking” we MUST stop her !!! ** watches the mad band of copybot detectives rush lynd **

Leave a Reply

